36th District Legislators
About Us
Advertise With Us
Bergen County Animal Shelter
Business Directory
Wood-Ridge Churches
Wood-Ridge Civic Center
Classified Ads
Community Web Sites
Computer Repair
Contact Us
Events
Family, Home, and Community Info
Games
General Disclaimer
Grant Info
Health and Nutrition Info
Help
History, Arts, and Culture Info
Jobs, Education, and Volunteerism
Memories of Wood-Ridge
Municipalities On-line
News
New Jersey Newspapers
New Jersey Statutes
Parenting Resources
PC Repair
Polls
Wood-Ridge PTA
Wood-Ridge Recreation
Wood-Ridge Schools
Wood-Ridge Senior Center
Senior Citizen Information
Site Map
Survey
Travel, Transportation, and Recreation
Wesmont Station
Wood-Ridge Fire Department
Wood-Ridge Police Department

Wood-Ridge Police Department

DRUNK DRIVING FACTS

Driving While Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs (DUI)

Court Imposed Fines and Penalties

First Offense

  • loss of license six months to one year

  • fine $250-$400

  • resource center 12 to 48 hours

  • jail up to 30 days

Second Offense

  • loss of license two years

  • fine $500-$1,000

  • community service 30 days

  • resource center 48 hours

  • jail for 48 hours to 90 days

Third Offense

  • loss of license 10 years

  • fine $1,000

  • jail for 180 days

Chemical Test Refusal

First Offense

  • loss of license six months

  • fine $250-$500

  • resource center for 12 hours minimum

Second Offense

  • loss of license two years

  • fine $250-$500

  • resource center for 12 hours minimum

Third and Subsequent Offenses

  • loss of license for 10 years

  • fine $250-$500

  • resource center for 12 hours minimum

Underage
For persons under 21 (the legal age in NJ to purchase an alcoholic beverage) who consume an alcoholic beverage, then drive a vehicle when their blood alcohol concentration is 0.01% or more, but less than 0.10%, the penalties are:

minimum

  • 30-90-day driver license suspension if currently licensed; or

  • 30-90-day prohibition from becoming a licensed driver at 17 years; and

  • mandatory community service for 15-30 days; and

  • participation in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center or other alcohol education and highway safety program

OR

  • a combination of the minimum sentences above and DUI sentences (see schedule)

OR

  • DUI sentences (see schedule).  If the blood alcohol concentration is 0.10% or higher, underage persons will receive DUI sentences as noted in the chart.

Conviction Surcharges
In addition to the court-imposed fines and penalties, anyone convicted of DUI or chemical test refusal is subject to:

  • an insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for three years ($3,000) for the first and second conviction within a three year period.

  • an insurance surcharge of $1,500 a year for three years ($4,500) for a third offense within a three year period.

  • a single $100 DUI enforcement surcharge that must be paid to the court with the required fine upon conviction.

The surcharges will be imposed on a New Jersey or out-of-state conviction.  Failure to pay the surcharge will result in indefinite suspension of all driving privileges and the filing of a judgment against any personal property.

Insurance Surcharge - Point Violations
Motorists who incur six or more motor vehicle points are also subject to an insurance surcharge of $100 for six points and $25 for each additional point.  The point surcharge will remain operational as long as a motorist has six or more points on his/her record for the immediate past three year period.  MVS will suspend all driver privileges indefinitely and take judgment action if the surcharge is not paid.  Other surchargeable violations are

  • driving while unlicensed $100

  • driving while suspended $250

  • failing to insure a moped $100

  • operating an uninsured vehicle $250

Boaters
Boaters convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) on New Jersey's waterways will be suspended from both boating and all driver license privileges.  Violators under 17 will have their vehicle and moped license privileges delayed for a term equal to the suspension period.

No 'Special' Licenses
New Jersey does not have conditional or special work licenses.  If you do not have a valid license, or if your driving privilege is suspended for drunk driving or any other violation, you cannot drive for any reason until your license is restored.

24 Hour Telephone Information and Assistance
For License Suspensions and Restorations
1-609-292-7500
For General Information
1-609-292-6500

| Back |

 

   
Home Site Map Help